deen
© KsiężycDawid Laskowski
02.08.2018 Thu
8 pm

Day Tickets 26 € | reduced 20 € | Festival Ticket 105 € | Early Bird Festival Ticket 90 € Indicated prices are valid at the ticket office of Radialsystem (online plus applicable fees). Day Tickets 30 € | reduced 20 € | Festival Ticket 105 € Indicated prices are valid at the box office of Radialsystem.

Festival

A L'ARME! FESTIVAL VOL. VI - Avantgarde Jazz & Experimental Music

Księżyc, Large Unit Rio, Andrea Belfi, Emilio Gordoa u.v.m.

Studio A: Mark Fell (UK) - "The Truth at all Costs?" Multilayer sound installation with archive material of Zbigniew Karkowski 18 Uhr Festival Garden mit low-tech Food & Drinks Set 1 / Saal: Belfi/Tricoli Drums: Andrea Belfi (IT/DE) Electronics: Valerio Tricoli (IT) Set 2 / Halle: Księżyc Vocals, Objects: Agata Harz (PL) Vocals, Keys, Objects: Katarzyna Smoluk-Moczydlowska (PL) Accordion, Keys, Synth: Lechoslaw Polak (PL) Tapes, Hurdy-Gurdy, Violin: Remigiusz Mazur Hanaj (PL) Clarinet, Keys, Objects: Robert Nizinski (PL) Set 3 / Saal: Gordoa/Malfon/Edwards/Narvesen Vibraphone: Emilio Gordoa (MX/DE) Alto Saxophone: Don Malfon (SP) Double-Bass: John Edwards (UK) Drums: Dag Magnus Narvesen (NO/DE) Set 4 / Halle: Large Unit Rio Drums, Percussion: Paal Nilssen-Love (NO) Cornet, Flugelhorn : Thomas Johansson (NO) Trombone: Mats Äleklint (SE) Tenor & Alto Saxophone: Kristoffer Alberts (NO) Alto Saxophone, Flute: Julie Kjær (DK) Alto & Baritone Saxophone: Klaus Holm (NO) Tuba: Per Åke Holmlander (SE) Accordion: Kalle Moberg (NO) Electric Guitar: Ketil Gutvik (NO) Electronics: Tommi Keranen (FI) Double & Electric Bass: Jon Rune Strøm (NO) Double & Electric Bass: Christian Meaas Svendsen (NO) Drums, Percussion: Andreas Wildhagen (NO) Percussion: Celio DeCarvalho (BR) Sound Design: Christian Obermayer (NO) Cuica: Paulinho Bicolor (BR) "Księżyc" is the Polish word for moon. The word also functions as an apt allegory for the contemplative sound of the neofolk ensemble of the same name. Hailing from Warsaw, director and clarinettist Robert Niziński and singers Agata Herz and Katarzyna Smoluk-Moczydłowska engage in experimental sound art whose strength lies in repetition. Andrea Belfi, Valerio Tricoli and Emilio Gordoa - all staples in Berlin's electro-acoustic improvisation scene - will unite for exclusive duets and premieres. They will lay the groundwork for Large Unit Rio: the orchestra of this year's A L'ARME! The drummer and band leader Paal Nilssen-Love is a regular at the festival. He will gather a selection of virtuosic guests from Scandinavia and Brasil in Radialsystem's hall. Get the festival pass for the whole festival here: https://radialsystem.reservix.de/p/reservix/group/272277 Reduced to the max! Early in August, Berlin's renowned avant-garde festival A L'ARME! will return to its roots, taking Vol. VI back to where it all began. Six years and still going strong, A L'ARME! runs on ruthlessness, quality and energy. Over the course of four days and four nights, Radialsystem will be filled with the pulsating sounds of a cross-genre array of performances and performers. There'll be everything from avant-garde jazz to musique concrète, from drone to improvisation, as well as audiovisual performances. The American performance art icon Laurie Anderson will kick off the festival with an unforgettable, exclusive collaboration with Bill Laswell's "Method of Defiance". Wrapping the festival up, the "Karkowski-Project" will honour the legacy of the avant-garde musician and composer Zbigniew Karkowski - breaking new ground all night long. Living avant-garde legends like Joëlle Léandre and Mark Fell will share the stage with newcomers such as the Nigerian-British singer Klein, Maja Ratkje, Ellen Arkbro, Matilda Rolfsson and Philipp Gropper. In addition, world-renowned sound artists like Paal Nilssen-Love's Large Unit Rio, JESSOP&CO., WANDA GROUP, and Księżyc will bring the avant-garde scenes from Norway, Brazil, India, the UK and Poland to the banks of the river Spree. A L'ARME! was founded in 2012 with the aim of providing a platform for avant-garde jazz and experimental music - showcasing a wide array of high-quality music with a radical twist. Bringing together local and international artists, communities and audiences through compelling collaborations, concerts and performances, A L'ARME! strives for an exchange of ideas, as well as aiming to challenge hierarchies and break down borders. An event by Louis Rastig and Karina Mertin. In cooperation with Radialsystem. Funded by the Capital Cultural Fund and the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe.

Cast

  • Künstlerische Leitung: Louis Rastig
  • Konzeption und Projektleitung: Karina Mertin

Images

© KsiężycDawid Laskowski
© Large Unit RioPromo

Presented by

Festival

01.08. - 04.08.

A L'ARME! FESTIVAL VOL. VI

Avantgarde Jazz & Experimental Music

Reduced to the max! Early in August, Berlin's renowned avant-garde festival A L'ARME! will return to its roots, taking Vol. VI back to where it all began. Six years and still going strong, A L'ARME! runs on ruthlessness, quality and energy. Over the course of four days and four nights, Radialsystem will be filled with the pulsating sounds of a cross-genre array of performances and performers. There'll be everything from avant-garde jazz to musique concrète, from drone to improvisation, as well as audiovisual performances. The American performance art icon Laurie Anderson will kick off the festival with an unforgettable, exclusive collaboration with Bill Laswell's "Method of Defiance". Wrapping the festival up, the "Karkowski-Project" will honour the legacy of the avant-garde musician and composer Zbigniew Karkowski - breaking new ground all night long. Living avant-garde legends like Joëlle Léandre and Mark Fell will share the stage with newcomers such as the Nigerian-British singer Klein, Maja Ratkje, Ellen Arkbro, Matilda Rolfsson and Philipp Gropper. In addition, world-renowned sound artists like Paal Nilssen-Love's Large Unit Rio, JESSOP&CO., WANDA GROUP, and Księżyc will bring the avant-garde scenes from Norway, Brazil, India, the UK and Poland to the banks of the river Spree. A L'ARME! was founded in 2012 with the aim of providing a platform for avant-garde jazz and experimental music - showcasing a wide array of high-quality music with a radical twist. Bringing together local and international artists, communities and audiences through compelling collaborations, concerts and performances, A L'ARME! strives for an exchange of ideas, as well as aiming to challenge hierarchies and break down borders. An event by Louis Rastig and Karina Mertin. In cooperation with Radialsystem. Funded by the Capital Cultural Fund and the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe.

deen
© KsiężycDawid Laskowski
02.08.2018 Do
20 Uhr

Tagestickets 26 € | ermäßigt 20 € | Festivalpass 105 € | Early Bird Festivalpass 90 € Angegebene Preise im Ticketbüro des Radialsystems, online zzgl. Gebühren. Tagestickets 30 € | ermäßigt 20 € | Festivalpass 105 € Angegebene Preise an der Abendkasse

Festival

A L'ARME! FESTIVAL VOL. VI - Avantgarde Jazz & Experimental Music

Księżyc, Large Unit Rio, Andrea Belfi, Emilio Gordoa u.v.m.

Studio A: Mark Fell (UK) - "The Truth at all Costs?" Multilayer sound installation with archive material of Zbigniew Karkowski 18 Uhr Festival Garden mit low-tech Food & Drinks Set 1 / Saal: Belfi/Tricoli Drums: Andrea Belfi (IT/DE) Electronics: Valerio Tricoli (IT) Set 2 / Halle: Księżyc Vocals, Objects: Agata Harz (PL) Vocals, Keys, Objects: Katarzyna Smoluk-Moczydlowska (PL) Accordion, Keys, Synth: Lechoslaw Polak (PL) Tapes, Hurdy-Gurdy, Violin: Remigiusz Mazur Hanaj (PL) Clarinet, Keys, Objects: Robert Nizinski (PL) Set 3 / Saal: Gordoa/Malfon/Edwards/Narvesen Vibraphone: Emilio Gordoa (MX/DE) Alto Saxophone: Don Malfon (SP) Double-Bass: John Edwards (UK) Drums: Dag Magnus Narvesen (NO/DE) Set 4 / Halle: Large Unit Rio Drums, Percussion: Paal Nilssen-Love (NO) Cornet, Flugelhorn : Thomas Johansson (NO) Trombone: Mats Äleklint (SE) Tenor & Alto Saxophone: Kristoffer Alberts (NO) Alto Saxophone, Flute: Julie Kjær (DK) Alto & Baritone Saxophone: Klaus Holm (NO) Tuba: Per Åke Holmlander (SE) Accordion: Kalle Moberg (NO) Electric Guitar: Ketil Gutvik (NO) Electronics: Tommi Keranen (FI) Double & Electric Bass: Jon Rune Strøm (NO) Double & Electric Bass: Christian Meaas Svendsen (NO) Drums, Percussion: Andreas Wildhagen (NO) Percussion: Celio DeCarvalho (BR) Sound Design: Christian Obermayer (NO) Cuica: Paulinho Bicolor (BR) Wörtlich übersetzt bedeutet "Księżyc" Mond und versinnbildlicht den kontemplativen Sound des gleichnamigen Neofolk-Ensembles aus Warschau, das unter der Leitung des Klarinettisten Robert Niziński mit den Sängerinnen Agata Herz und Katarzyna Smoluk-Moczydłowska eine eindringliche, repetitive Form experimenteller Klangkunst präsentiert. Berliner Vertreter der elektroakustischen Improvisation wie Andrea Belfi, Valerio Tricoli oder Emilio Gordoa spannen in exklusiven Duos und musikalischen Erstbegegnungen den experimentierfreudigen Bogen zur Large Unit Rio: dem A L'ARME!-Orchester 2018. Festivalstammgast, Bandleader und Schlagzeuger Paal Nilssen-Love aus Oslo versammelt dafür eine Auswahl an virtuosen Gästen aus Skandinavien und Brasilien in der Halle des Radialsystems. Den Festivalpass für das gesamte Festival finden Sie hier: https://radialsystem.reservix.de/p/reservix/group/272277 Reduced to the max! Anfang August kehrt Berlins renommiertes Avantgarde-Festival A L'ARME! zu seinen Wurzeln zurück und knüpft dort an, wo 2012 alles begann. Auch im sechsten Jahr bündelt A L'ARME! Radikalität, Qualität und Energie und lässt dabei unterschiedliche künstlerische Linien aufeinander treffen: An vier Abenden spannt sich ein genreübergreifender Bogen von zeitgenössischem Jazz über Musique Concrète, Drone und Improvisation bis hin zu audiovisuellen Performances. Das Programm reicht von der großen Festivaleröffnung mit der US-amerikanischen Performance- und Multimedia-Künstlerin Laurie Anderson in einer festivalexklusiven Kollaboration mit "Method of Defiance" bis zum Festivalabschluss mit dem abendfüllenden "Karkowski-Project", das sich auf neuartige Weise dem avantgardistischen Musiker und Komponisten Zbigniew Karkowski widmet. Avantgarde-Größen wie Joelle Léandre und Mark Fell teilen sich die Bühne des Radialsystems mit Newcomern wie der nigerianisch-britischen Sängerin Klein, Maja Ratkje, Ellen Arkbro, Matilfa Rolfsson oder Philipp Gropper. Darüber hinaus repräsentieren international renommierte Klangkünstler wie Paal Nilssen Loves Large Unit Rio, JESSOP&CO, WANDA GROUP und Księżyc die Avantgarde-Szene aus Brasilien, Indien, Großbritannien und Polen an der Spree. A L'ARME! wurde 2012 mit dem Ziel gegründet, einem breiten und qualitativ hochwertigen Spektrum von zeitgenössischem Jazz und radikal experimenteller Musik eine Plattform zu bieten. Spannende Kollaborationen, Konzerte und Performances sollen lokale und internationale Künstler, Communities und das Publikum miteinander in Kontakt bringen, um Ideen auszutauschen, Hierarchien zu hinterfragen und Grenzen aufzubrechen. Eine Veranstaltung von Louis Rastig und Karina Mertin. In Kooperation mit Radialsystem. Gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds und die Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.

Besetzung

  • Künstlerische Leitung: Louis Rastig
  • Konzeption und Projektleitung: Karina Mertin

Bilder

© KsiężycDawid Laskowski
© Large Unit RioPromo

Präsentiert von

Festival

01.08. - 04.08.

A L'ARME! FESTIVAL VOL. VI

Avantgarde Jazz & Experimental Music

Reduced to the max! Anfang August kehrt Berlins renommiertes Avantgarde-Festival A L'ARME! zu seinen Wurzeln zurück und knüpft dort an, wo 2012 alles begann. Auch im sechsten Jahr bündelt A L'ARME! Radikalität, Qualität und Energie und lässt dabei unterschiedliche künstlerische Linien aufeinander treffen: An vier Abenden spannt sich ein genreübergreifender Bogen von zeitgenössischem Jazz über Musique Concrète, Drone und Improvisation bis hin zu audiovisuellen Performances. Das Programm reicht von der großen Festivaleröffnung mit der US-amerikanischen Performance- und Multimedia-Künstlerin Laurie Anderson in einer festivalexklusiven Kollaboration mit "Method of Defiance" bis zum Festivalabschluss mit dem abendfüllenden "Karkowski-Project", das sich auf neuartige Weise dem avantgardistischen Musiker und Komponisten Zbigniew Karkowski widmet. Avantgarde-Größen wie Joelle Léandre und Mark Fell teilen sich die Bühne des Radialsystems mit Newcomern wie der nigerianisch-britischen Sängerin Klein, Maja Ratkje, Ellen Arkbro, Matilfa Rolfsson oder Philipp Gropper. Darüber hinaus repräsentieren international renommierte Klangkünstler wie Paal Nilssen Loves Large Unit Rio, JESSOP&CO, WANDA GROUP und Księżyc die Avantgarde-Szene aus Brasilien, Indien, Großbritannien und Polen an der Spree. A L'ARME! wurde 2012 mit dem Ziel gegründet, einem breiten und qualitativ hochwertigen Spektrum von zeitgenössischem Jazz und radikal experimenteller Musik eine Plattform zu bieten. Spannende Kollaborationen, Konzerte und Performances sollen lokale und internationale Künstler, Communities und das Publikum miteinander in Kontakt bringen, um Ideen auszutauschen, Hierarchien zu hinterfragen und Grenzen aufzubrechen. Eine Veranstaltung von Louis Rastig und Karina Mertin. In Kooperation mit Radialsystem. Gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds und die Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.