ensemble recherche © Christina Schlosser
18.01.2019 Fri
7.30 pm

Karten 15 € | ermäßigt 10 €


Ultraschall Berlin - Festival für neue Musik

ensemble recherche

Chaya Czernowin's "Ayre" is an acoustic microscopic view of the smallest musical movements, which in their sum unexpectedly create a new sense of space. In his late work "Plektó", Iannis Xenakis expands the stylistic devices of many of his works, including rhythmic complexity and massive sound eruptions with contrapuntally, densely interwoven lines. Johanna Maria Staud uses a verse from a poem by American poet Elisabeth Bishop for an exploration of post-Lachenmann Modernism. With "Pomen I" for viola solo, Paul Beckett introduces himself as a new member of the ensemble recherche with a solo piece for his instrument. Finally, Christian Mason's new work "Zwischen den Sternen" (between the stars) will be premiered. In his own words the composer defines composing as "searching in sound for fleeting solidifications of intangible experiences". On the radio: Deutschlandfunk Kultur, Konzert, 18.01.2019, 20.03 Uhr, live kulturradio vom rbb, Musik der Gegenwart, 20.02.2019, 21.04 Uhr

Concert programme

Chaya Czernowin (*1957) Ayre: Towed through plumes, thicket, aspahlt, sawdust and hazardous air I shall not forget the sound of (2015) for chamber ensemble Iannis Xenakis (1922-2001) Plektó (1993) for six instruments Johannes Maria Staud (*1974) Wheat, not oats, dear. I’m afraid (2015) for seven instruments Milica Djordjevic (*1984) Pomen II (2018) for viola solo Christian Mason (1984) Zwischen den Sternen (2018) - Uraufführung Commissioned work by ensemble recherche for ensemble


  • mit: ensemble recherche
  • Violine: Melise Mellinger
  • Viola: Paul Beckett
  • Violoncello: Åsa Åkerberg
  • Flöte: Martin Fahlenbock
  • Oboe: Eduardo Olloqui
  • Klarinette: Shizuyo Oka
  • Schlagzeug: Christian Dierstein
  • Klavier: Klaus Steffes-Holländer


An event by Deutschlandfunk Kultur and kulturradio vom rbb. The commissiond work by ensemble recherche, "Zwischen den Sternen", is funded by the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung.


ensemble recherche © Christina Schlosser

Presented by


18.01. - 19.01.

Ultraschall Berlin

Festival für neue Musik

Also for its 20th anniversary, Ultraschall Berlin remains true to its mission of presenting essential developments in contemporary music in an exemplary way, bringing composers and performers into relationship with one another and showcasing current works in performances that set standards. New Music, only inadequately described with this catchphrase, is more diverse than ever and knows no blinkers or genre divisions. A key feature of Ultraschall is therefore keeping the balance between world premieres and first performances and highlighting works from the recent past in a contemporary, changed context. Hence, the five concerts at Radialsystem will feature works by Natacha Diels, Christian Mason and Sara Glojnarić alongside works by Georges Aperghis, Morton Feldman and Iannis Xenakis. The Notos Quartett gives new impulses to the formation of the piano quartet, which has so far received rather modest attention in contemporary music. Sebastian Berweck, Silke Lange and Martin Lorenz play music for three synthesizers and the Ensemble Adapter presents, among others, "Music for Japan" and "Music for Europe". Ultraschall Berlin does also take place at Haus des Rundfunks Berlin, Heimathafen Neukölln and Volksbühne. You can find the day ticket for Saturday here: An event by Deutschlandfunk Kultur and kulturradio vom rbb.

More events of the festival

18.01.2019 Fri

Ultraschall Berlin - Festival für neue Musik

18.01.2019 Fri

Ultraschall Berlin - Festival für neue Musik