deen
calendar
Fri 29 05
New Empathies
6 pm

Free admission, participation after registration.

Registration at register@radialsystem.de. After successful registration you will receive all necessary information, including a short technical guide // The language of communication is English, but during the workshop it will also be possible to work with your own preferred language.

New Empathies: Scores for the Time being

Online-Workshop with Scores for Gardens
New Empathies
New Empathies © Promo
With an online workshop, the interdisciplinary research group "Scores for Gardens" searches for artistic forms of expression for the current situation: Many people around the world are at the moment confronted with the struggle of being caught in an immobilised state, a state of being “in-between". What comes after seems impossible to imagine, our lives before are already too far away... We are drained by nostalgia and uncertainty when it comes to relationships, whereas the vulnerability and fragility of our current structures are becoming increasingly visible. We are experiencing a time that has never before existed in this way – and if the “in-between” is defined as an appropriate narrative, important questions can be derived from it: How do our bodies and (artistic) language respond to this situation? And how does it affect our ways of perceiving our surroundings?

During the workshop the hosts of the collaborative garden share their playful approach on shifting perspectives in an attempt to capture and nurture this "in-between"... Through listening, movement and writing exercises, we will attempt to contain and nurture our current in-between states: becoming fruit, trees, bacteria, roots and moist wet soil, be buried, forgotten, or transformed... In this time-sensitive present, when gathering in the fictional space of a garden, we ask: how can we dig and carve some space where we can allow things such as uncertainty, grief, or joy to happen?

"A Score for the Time being" - inspired by the story "A Tale for the Time being" by Ruth Ozeki - is a collective attempt by the research group "Scores for Gardens" to create a temporary digital garden. The group borrows the symbiotic and organic form of gardens, aspiring to reflect on the complexity of the remote, transdisciplinary, collaborative artistic practices. Over a period of one week, a virtual space will be created in which the participants of the workshop will work together with the artists. The workshop begins and ends with an online meeting where all participants come together.

New Empathies – Far from a distance

In June 2019, radialsystem launched “New Empathies”, a series of programmes spanning two years, consisting of concerts, installations, choreographies, workshops, and discussions on the practice of the empathic and their potential with regard to artistic, technological, political and ecological questions.

Due to the current situation, the fourth “New Empathies” weekend at the beginning of May 2020 cannot take place as planned – and the question of how we can create resonance among ourselves as a basis for community, solidarity and social awareness despite keeping a minimum distance and the ban on contact has suddenly become a noticeable challenge.

Therefore, in the coming weeks we want to explore and reflect on the possibilities and limits of virtual spaces as places of empathy. Mid-April we will start our new online series "New Empathies - Far from a distance", in which we want to create periods of encounters and shared aesthetic experience.

“Scores for Gardens” is an interdisciplinary study group formed by Katrine Elise Leth Nielsen, Juan Felipe Amaya González and Angeliki Tzortzakaki in August 2019. It borrows the symbiotic and organic form of a garden to reflect on the complexity of cross-cultural and remote collaborative artistic practices. “Scores for Gardens” as an open-end learning platform operates with peer-to-peer exchange of ideas, tasks, and inputs remotely (via digital platforms) and by meetings focusing on the intersection of movement, writing, and voice work.

‌‌

  • Organisation and artistic concept Katrine Elise Leth Nielsen, Angeliki Tzortzakaki and Juan Felipe Amaya Gonzáles

Programme

Mon 25 05 2020 10 a.m. Tue 26 05 2020 Wed 27 05 2020 Thu 28 05 2020 Fri 29 05 2020 6 p.m. Mon 25 05 2020 Online-Meeting Duration about 1 hour Fri 29 05 2020 Online-Meeting Duration about 2 hours Tue - Thu participants* of the workshop will receive tasks and materials by e-mail.

Credits

„Score for Gardens“ is supported by Travers, Kopenhagen, and radialsystem. Mentor: Matthias Mohr. „New Empathies“ is sponsored by Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Media partners: tip Berlin, Ask Helmut und Exberliner.

New Empathies
New Empathies © Promo
Shanghai Botanical Garden
Shanghai Botanical Garden © Juan Felipe Amaya Gonzales

Presented by

Free admission, participation after registration.

Registration at register@radialsystem.de. After successful registration you will receive all necessary information, including a short technical guide // The language of communication is English, but during the workshop it will also be possible to work with your own preferred language.

Further dates

Also of interest

New Empathies: Vogelsang

Sat06 06

New Empathies: INTERMEDIA

Sat13 06

deen
kalender
Fr 29 05
New Empathies
18 Uhr

Eintritt frei, Teilnahme nach Anmeldung.

Anmeldung unter register@radialsystem.de. Nach erfolgter Anmeldung erhalten Sie alle benötigten Informationen, inklusive eines kurzen technischen Leitfadens // Die Kommunikationssprache ist Englisch, aber während des Workshops wird es möglich sein, auch mit der eigenen bevorzugten Sprache zu arbeiten.

New Empathies: Scores for the Time being

Online-Workshop mit Scores for Gardens
New Empathies
New Empathies © Promo
Mit einem Online-Workshop begibt sich die interdisziplinäre Forschungsgruppe „Scores for Gardens“ auf die Suche nach künstlerischen Ausdrucksformen für die aktuelle Ausnahmesituation: Weltweit sind Menschen im Augenblick mit einem Zustand des „Dazwischen“ konfrontiert. Was nach dieser Zeit kommen wird, ist ungewiss, und unser bisheriges Leben scheint bereits weit entfernt… Nostalgie und Unsicherheit prägen unsere Beziehungen, und die Verwundbarkeit und Zerbrechlichkeit unserer bisherigen Strukturen werden immer sichtbarer. Wir erleben eine Zeit, die es so vorher noch nie gegeben hat – und wenn man das „Dazwischen“ als ein dafür zutreffendes Narrativ definiert, lassen sich daraus wichtige Fragen ableiten: Wie reagieren unsere Körper und (künstlerische) Sprache auf die Situation? Und wie beeinflusst dies die Wahrnehmung unserer Umgebung?

Im Rahmen des Workshops teilen die Gastgeber*innen des gemeinschaftlichen digitalen Gartens ihre spielerische Herangehensweise und changierenden Perspektiven in dem Versuch, diesem „Dazwischen“ eine Form zu geben und es auszugestalten. Mit angeleiteten Hör-, Bewegungs- und Schreibübungen werden die Grenzen und Möglichkeiten des „Dazwischen“ ausgetestet: Wir werden zu Früchten, Bäumen, Bakterien, Wurzeln und zu feuchter Erde, wir werden vergraben, vergessen, verändert… In dieser zeitkritischen Gegenwart versammeln wir uns im fiktiven Raum eines Gartens und fragen danach, wie wir einen Raum einrichten und gestalten können, in dem wir Dinge wie Ungewissheit, Trauer oder Freude geschehen lassen können?

„Scores for the Time being“ – inspiriert von der Erzählung „A Tale for the Time being“ („Eine Geschichte für einen Augenblick“) von Ruth Ozeki – ist ein kollektiver Versuch der Forschungsgruppe „Scores for Gardens“, einen temporären digitalen Garten zu erschaffen. Mit Blick auf die symbiotischen und organischen Formen eines Gartens wird die Komplexität einer künstlerischen Praxis reflektiert, die transdisziplinär, kollaborativ und von zu Hause realisiert wird. Während des einwöchigen Workshops wird ein virtueller Raum geschaffen, in dem die Teilnehmer*innen mit den Künstler*innen gemeinsam an Themen arbeiten. Der Workshop beginnt und endet jeweils mit einem Online-Treffen, bei dem alle Teilnehmer*innen zusammen kommen.

New Empathies – Far from a Dstance

Mit „New Empathies“ startete das radialsystem im Juni 2019 eine Programmreihe, die sich über zwei Jahre hinweg in Konzerten, Installationen, choreografischen Arbeiten, Workshops und Gesprächen den Möglichkeiten einer Praxis des Empathischen nähert und deren Potenziale in Bezug auf künstlerische, technologische, politische und ökologische Fragestellungen beleuchtet.

Das vierte „New Empathies“-Wochenende Anfang Mai 2020, in dem wir uns erneut mit den Möglichkeiten des (Mit-)Fühlens auseinandersetzen wollten, kann aufgrund der aktuellen Situation nicht wie geplant stattfinden – und die Frage danach, wie wir trotz Mindestabstand und Kontaktverbot untereinander Resonanz erzeugen können als Basis für Gemeinschaft, Solidarität und gesellschaftliches Bewusstsein, ist schlagartig zu einer spürbaren Herausforderung geworden.

Daher wollen wir in den kommenden Wochen die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen virtueller Räume als Orte der Empathie ausloten, verschieben und reflektieren. Dazu starten wir Mitte April unsere neue Online-Reihe „New Empathies - Far from a distance“, in deren Rahmen wir Zeiträume zu Begegnungen und gemeinsamen ästhetischen Erfahrung entstehen lassen.

Scores for Gardens ist eine interdisziplinäre Forschungsgruppe, die 2019 von Katrine Elise Leth Nielsen, Juan Felipe Amaya González und Angeliki Tzortzakaki gegründet wurde. Sie nutzt die symbiotische und organische Form des Gartens, um die Komplexität von transkulturellen und unkonventionellen kollaborativen künstlerischen Praktiken zu untersuchen und zu reflektieren. Scores for Gardens arbeitet als offene Lernplattform mittels digitalem Peer to Peer-Austausch und fokussiert sich auf die Schnittmenge von Bewegung, Schreiben und Arbeit mit der Stimme.

‌‌

  • Organisation und künstlerische Konzept Katrine Elise Leth Nielsen, Angeliki Tzortzakaki and Juan Felipe Amaya Gonzáles

Programm

Mo 25 05 2020 10 Uhr Di 26 05 2020 Mi 27 05 2020 Do 28 05 2020 Fr 29 05 2020 18 Uhr Mo 25 05 2020 Online-Treffen Dauer ca. 1 Stunde Fr 29 05 2020 Online-Treffen Dauer ca. 2 Stunden Di - Do erhalten die Teilnehmer*innen des Workshops per E-Mail Aufgaben und Materialien.

Credits

„Score for Gardens“ wird unterstützt von Travers, Kopenhagen, und radialsystem. Mentor: Matthias Mohr. „New Empathies“ wird gefördert von der Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Medienpartner: tip Berlin, Ask Helmut und Exberliner.

New Empathies
New Empathies © Promo
Shanghai Botanical Garden
Shanghai Botanical Garden © Juan Felipe Amaya Gonzales

Präsentiert von

Eintritt frei, Teilnahme nach Anmeldung.

Anmeldung unter register@radialsystem.de. Nach erfolgter Anmeldung erhalten Sie alle benötigten Informationen, inklusive eines kurzen technischen Leitfadens // Die Kommunikationssprache ist Englisch, aber während des Workshops wird es möglich sein, auch mit der eigenen bevorzugten Sprache zu arbeiten.

Weitere Termine

Auch interessant

New Empathies: Vogelsang

Sa06 06

New Empathies: INTERMEDIA

Sa13 06