deen
calendar
Sat 06 06
8 pm

Free admission, participation after registration.

Registration at register@radialsystem.de. After successful registration you will receive all necessary information, including a short technical guide // In english language.

New Empathies: Vogelsang

Lecture Performance with Peter Cusack
New Empathies
New Empathies © Promo
Searching for sound, distracted by colour...What’s the sound of an abandoned place? Over a period of five years, sound artist Peter Cusack explored the former Soviet military base Vogelsang and used sound recordings and photographs to document the changes of a place that was abandoned almost 30 years ago and has been falling more and more into ruin ever since. In a lecture performance as part of the online series "New Empathies - Far from a distance" at radialsystem, he presents the material he collected there as a combination of stories, sounds and images. Through the approach of listening, he draws attention to the complexity of transformation processes that follow a crisis... How has our reality changed during the crisis, can we hear this change?

Situated 60 km north of Berlin in a forest, Vogelsang, at the height of its time, housed not only nuclear weapons, but also more than fifteen thousand people with the army personnel of all kinds and their families stationed there. Once a thriving town with cafés, schools, sports halls and cinemas, this place was abandoned by the military in 1994 and has been left to decay ever since. Today, the area is a nature reserve, but the ruins remain. Some buildings have been demolished, others have fallen of themselves, and some are today almost still in their original state. It is a powerful, atmospheric place that is constantly evolving. Ghosts of the past entangle with possible futures. Slowly nature is returning to this deserted place: owls, cranes, deer and woodpeckers make homes there, wolves have recently returned, ants, worms, fungi, nematodes, mosses, bacteria, seeds, roots, seedlings, trees, winds and water are constantly active. At the same time it attracts a bizarre selection of people: birdwatchers, photographers, drug addicts, GPS game players and US soldiers in search of Cold War memorabilia... they all leave traces and stories behind.

New Empathies – Far from a distance

In June 2019, radialsystem launched “New Empathies”, a series of programmes spanning two years, consisting of concerts, installations, choreographies, workshops, and discussions on the practice of the empathic and their potential with regard to artistic, technological, political and ecological questions.

Due to the current situation, the fourth “New Empathies” weekend at the beginning of May 2020 couldn't take place as planned – and the question of how we can create resonance among ourselves as a basis for community, solidarity and social awareness despite keeping a minimum distance and the ban on contact has suddenly become a noticeable challenge.

At the end of April, we therefore launched our new online series "New Empathies - Far from a distance", in the course of which, over a period of several weeks, we will explore, shift and reflect on the possibilities and limits of virtual spaces as places of empathy, as well as create spaces for encounters and shared aesthetic experience.

Peter Cusack is a field recordist, sound artist and musician with a long interest in the sound environment. In 1998 he initiated the “Favourite Sounds Project” to discover how people interact with the soundscapes of the places where they live. Starting in London it has travelled to other world cities including Beijing, Prague, Manchester, Hull and Berlin. His project ‘Sounds from Dangerous Places’ investigates the soundscapes of sites of major environmental damage such as the Caspian oil fields, the Chernobyl exclusion zone and the Aral Sea, Central Asia, and asks the question, “What can be learned about dangerous places by listening to their sounds?”

‌‌

  • Artistic concept Peter Cusack

Credits

„New Empathies“ is sponsored by Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Media partners: tip Berlin, Ask Helmut und Exberliner.

New Empathies
New Empathies © Promo
Vogelsang
Vogelsang © Peter Cusack
Vogelsang
Vogelsang © Peter Cusack
Vogelsang
Vogelsang © Peter Cusack

Presented by

Free admission, participation after registration.

Registration at register@radialsystem.de. After successful registration you will receive all necessary information, including a short technical guide // In english language.

Also of interest

Open Spaces X radialsystem: UNREST

Thu17 06

Heroines of Sound Festival 2021

Thu01 07

deen
kalender
Sa 06 06
20 Uhr

Eintritt frei, Teilnahme nach Anmeldung.

Anmeldung unter register@radialsystem.de. Nach erfolgter Anmeldung erhalten Sie alle benötigten Informationen, inklusive eines kurzen technischen Leitfadens // In englischer Sprache.

New Empathies: Vogelsang

Lecture Performance mit Peter Cusack
New Empathies
New Empathies © Promo
Searching for sound, distracted by colour…Wie klingt ein verlassener Ort? Über fünf Jahre hinweg hat der Klangkünstler Peter Cusack den ehemaligen sowjetischen Militärstützpunkt Vogelsang im Norden von Berlin besucht und mit Tonaufnahmen und Fotografien die Veränderungen eines Ortes dokumentiert, der vor fast 30 Jahren verlassen wurde und seitdem immer mehr zur Ruine verfällt. In einer Lecture Performance im Rahmen der Online-Reihe „New Empathies – Far from a distance“ im radialsystem stellt er sein dort gesammeltes Material als eine Kombination aus Geschichten, Klängen und Bildern vor. Über den Zugang des Hörens macht er so auf die Vielschichtigkeit von Transformationsprozessen aufmerksam, die auf eine Krise folgen… Wie hat sich unsere Lebensrealität in der Krise verändert, können wir diese Veränderung hören?

60 km nördlich von Berlin in einem Wald gelegen, beherbergte Vogelsang auf dem Höhepunkt seiner Zeit nicht nur Atomwaffen, sondern mit den dort stationierten sowjetischen Armeeangehörigen und ihren Familien auch mehr als fünfzehntausend Menschen. Einst eine blühende Stadt mit Cafés, Schulen, Sporthallen und Kinos wurde dieser Ort 1994 vom Militär aufgegeben und seitdem dem Verfall überlassen. Heute ist das Gebiet ein Naturreservat, aber die Ruinen sind geblieben. Einige Gebäude wurden abgerissen, andere verfallen, manche kann man heute noch fast im Originalzustand besichtigen. Es ist ein kraftvoller, stimmungsgeladener Ort, der sich ständig weiterentwickelt. Geister der Vergangenheit verstricken sich mit möglichen Zukünften. Langsam kehrt die Natur an diesen verlassenen Ort zurück: Eulen, Kraniche, Rehe und Spechte sind hier zu Hause, Wölfe sind vor kurzem zurückgekehrt, Kleintiere, Pilze, Moose, Bäume, Winde und Wasser sind beständig am Werk. Zugleich zieht er eine bizarre Auswahl von Menschen an: Vogelbeobachter*innen, Fotograf*innen, Drogenabhängige, Spieler*innen von GPS-Spielen und US-Soldat*innen, die auf der Suche nach Erinnerungsstücken aus dem Kalten Krieg sind… sie alle hinterlassen ihre Spuren und Geschichten.

New Empathies – Far from a Distance

Mit „New Empathies“ startete das radialsystem im Juni 2019 eine Programmreihe, die sich über zwei Jahre hinweg in Konzerten, Installationen, choreografischen Arbeiten, Workshops und Gesprächen den Möglichkeiten einer Praxis des Empathischen nähert und deren Potenziale in Bezug auf künstlerische, technologische, politische und ökologische Fragestellungen beleuchtet.

Das vierte „New Empathies“-Wochenende Anfang Mai 2020, in dem wir uns erneut mit den Möglichkeiten des (Ein-)Fühlens auseinandersetzen wollten, konnte aufgrund der aktuellen Situation nicht wie geplant stattfinden – und die Frage danach, wie wir trotz Mindestabstand und Kontaktverbot untereinander Resonanz erzeugen können als Basis für Gemeinschaft, Solidarität und gesellschaftliches Bewusstsein, ist schlagartig zu einer spürbaren Herausforderung geworden.

Ende April starteten wir daher unsere neue Online-Reihe „New Empathies - Far from a distance“, in deren Rahmen wir über mehrere Wochen hinweg die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen virtueller Räume als Orte der Empathie ausloten, verschieben und reflektieren sowie Zeiträume zu Begegnungen und gemeinsamen ästhetischen Erfahrung entstehen lassen.

Der Klangkünstler, Musiker und Field Recordist Peter Cusack beschäftigt sich mit den Klängen seiner Umgebung und nimmt diese vor Ort auf. Im Jahr 1998 initiierte er das "Favourite Sounds Project", um herauszufinden, wie Menschen mit den Klanglandschaften der Orte, an denen sie leben, interagieren. Ausgehend von London reiste das Projekt in andere Weltstädte wie Peking, Prag, Manchester, Hull und Berlin. Sein Projekt "Sounds from Dangerous Places" untersucht die Klanglandschaften von Orten mit großen Umweltschäden wie den kaspischen Ölfeldern, der Sperrzone von Tschernobyl und dem Aralsee in Zentralasien und stellt die Frage: "Was kann man über gefährliche Orte lernen, wenn man ihren Geräuschen lauscht?“.

‌‌

  • Künstlerisches Konzept Peter Cusack

Credits

„New Empathies“ wird gefördert von der Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Medienpartner: tip Berlin, Ask Helmut und Exberliner.

New Empathies
New Empathies © Promo
Vogelsang
Vogelsang © Peter Cusack
Vogelsang
Vogelsang © Peter Cusack
Vogelsang
Vogelsang © Peter Cusack

Präsentiert von

Eintritt frei, Teilnahme nach Anmeldung.

Anmeldung unter register@radialsystem.de. Nach erfolgter Anmeldung erhalten Sie alle benötigten Informationen, inklusive eines kurzen technischen Leitfadens // In englischer Sprache.

Auch interessant

1 km² Berlin – Akt II: A place to be

Fr02 10

Radical Sounds Latin America

Sa03 10

Covered Culture

Sa24 10